NBA postseason matchups: Lakers vs. Warriors in play-in; Heat-Bucks, Clippers-Mavericks rematches on deck

Must Read

Getty Images

The 2020-21 NBA regular season, shortened to 72 games, is in the books. Next up: The play-in tournament, which runs from Tuesday, May 18 to Friday, May 21, followed by the first round of the playoffs on Saturday, May 22. 

A quick reminder on the NBA’s new play-in format: The top six seeds in each conference are in, with the final two seeds up for grabs via the new play-in tournament. In each conference, No. 7 will play No. 8 with the winner getting the No. 7 seed. The loser will then play the winner of 9 vs. 10 for the No. 8 seed.

Please check the opt-in box to acknowledge that you would like to subscribe.

Thanks for signing up!

Keep an eye on your inbox.


There was an error processing your subscription.

Below is what the playoff picture looks like heading into the postseason. 


  • First-round matchup: vs. No. 7 seed (Lakers or Warriors)

5. Dallas Mavericks

  • First-round matchup: vs. Los Angeles Clippers

6. Portland Trail Blazers

  • First-round matchup: vs. Denver Nuggets

(Play-in teams)7. Los Angeles Lakers

  • First play-in matchup: vs. Golden State Warriors

8. Golden State Warriors

  • First play-in matchup: vs. Los Angeles Lakers

9. Memphis Grizzlies

  • First play-in matchup: vs. San Antonio Spurs

10. San Antonio Spurs

  • First play-in matchup: vs. Memphis Grizzlies


  • First-round matchup: vs. Boston Celtics

5. Atlanta Hawks

  • First-round matchup: vs. New York Knicks

6. Miami Heat

  • First-round matchup: vs. Milwaukee Bucks

(Play-in teams)7. Boston Celtics

  • First-round matchup: vs. Brooklyn Nets

8. Washington Wizards

  • Second play-in matchup: vs. Indiana Pacers

9. Indiana Pacers

  • Second play-in matchup: vs. Washington Wizards

10. Charlotte Hornets

  • First play-in matchup: Lost to Indiana Pacers, eliminated

More News

More Articles Like This